An eyecare paid focus group—a compensated, moderated discussion about eye products or experiences—cannot be verified as active in August 2026. The closest public listing offered $150 for a two-hour online dry-eye discussion, but recruitment ended July 17. The meaningful update is that eyecare research remains active, although the documented opportunities are not interchangeable. One dry-eye clinical trial is recruiting, another is not yet recruiting, and neither registry establishes that participants will be paid.
Table of Contents
- What happened to the paid focus group?
- Why eyecare researchers may recruit different groups
- What research opportunity is recruiting now?
- What should readers watch next?
- How to assess the next listing
What happened to the paid focus group?
The expired study sought adults ages 30–55 who experienced dry, irritated, or tired eyes. According to the University of Rochester Career Center listing, applicants also had to submit photos of their eye-care products. That requirement shows how narrowly recruiters may screen participants.
A person can match the general topic but still be excluded because of age, symptoms, product use, or missing verification. The product-photo request also deserves attention. Applicants should confirm who receives the images, what identifying information is visible, and how the material will be used before submitting anything.
Why eyecare researchers may recruit different groups
The Vision Council's Q2 2026 survey points to several distinct research audiences. Smart-eyewear buyers, contact-lens users, and people delaying replacement purchases may require different screeners and discussion questions. Among recent eyewear purchasers, 16% reported buying smart eyewear.
Meanwhile, 79% of contact-lens wearers reported making a purchase during the prior calendar year, indicating a comparatively recently engaged group. Nonbuyers are not a single audience. The Vision Council's consumer findings show that 44% said they did not need a new product, while 35% were trying to make existing eyewear last. Researchers should distinguish deferred replacement from other reasons for not buying.
What research opportunity is recruiting now?
A recruiting dry-eye crossover study is comparing preservative-free Systane PRO with Blink Triple Care. A crossover design gives participants the study treatments in a planned sequence so researchers can compare outcomes. The ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT07745062 lists an actual start date of July 17, 2026, and an estimated primary completion date of January 1, 2027.
The registry was updated August 4. This is a treatment study, not a paid focus group. Its public record describes eligibility, visits, treatments, and outcomes but does not state participant compensation. Anyone considering it should ask the listed study contact about payment, reimbursement, visit requirements, and screening before committing.
What should readers watch next?
A larger Phase 2 dry-eye drug study from Rudacure planned to screen about 400 people and randomize about 200. Randomization means eligible participants are assigned to study groups under the trial's protocol. However, the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT07625124 was listed as "not yet recruiting" after its June 4 update.
It belongs on a watchlist, not on a list of opportunities accepting participants now. Check the registry status before contacting a site or changing plans. "Not yet recruiting" does not provide an application window, guarantee eligibility, or establish compensation.
How to assess the next listing
Before applying to an eyecare study, separate the opportunity type from the subject. A focus group pays for discussion, while a clinical trial tests an intervention under a research protocol. Use these checks:.
- Confirm that recruitment is still open.
- Match every stated age, symptom, and product-use requirement.
- Identify whether the activity is a discussion, survey, product test, or clinical trial.
- Verify compensation and expense reimbursement directly when the listing does not state them.
- Review requests for photos or other product-use evidence before sharing files.



